My Big 37th Birthday

Standard

This birthday was unusual. My whole family FORGOT. Now, I’m an adult and my birthday does not have to be at the center of the universe, but as Matt said good-bye while I was hazily sleeping in (I love that about summer!) I realized that he had no idea. No biggie. All the girls in the family (my mom included) get together for lunch on each of our birthdays. It’s one of my favorite traditions. I told my kids that I was off to Chili’s to meet for a birthday lunch, my birthday lunch, while Cayden and Ashlyn babysat.

We talked for hours! I think it has to hold the record for our longest birthday lunch ever! Our drinks finally hit, and we all stepped away to the restroom (tmi- sorry!) and then sat back down for another hour. We are there for each other! We filled each other in on all of the details of our lives! We loved baby Emma. We laughed! I came home happy and loving my life!

Matt called later and wished me a happy birthday (work has been c-r-a-z-y). He came home and took ALL of the kids shopping to get birthday presents. I put a cake in the oven and went to the library to find some books, by myself! That was a gift right there! We had a great evening, everything was truly wonderful and I’m so thankful for my family!

DSC_0429 small

One response »

  1. I don’t care how much we feel we don’t want/need the attention, a birthday is a birthday and there are some expectations.  Totally understand this one.  Glad it ended happy.  Love ya, M

    *******************************************Everything tastes good with chocolate except broccoli—Maria Lund

Leave a Reply

