The Big Bike Ride

Standard

Sometimes I talk myself out of doing new things. I have a lot of excuses. A lot.  And it’s usually the same ones too!

2

This year one of my “resolutions” was to let myself try new things. Nothing else from January 1st has stuck, but this one has. Sometimes I am consciously reminding myself to follow through, other times I don’t have to. But when I planned this ride, I have to admit I was nervous. I went online to map it out because I needed to take one bike trail to Lone Peak, get onto a different bike trail (the Murdock Canal Trail) to take me west, and then navigate a residential area to get me back to the main road to take  me home. I printed out directions to get me through the residential area and tucked it into the bike trailer – why are their no pockets?!! I packed a lunch, biked up to the school to do “Take Home Library” for Dylan and Jackson’s classes and then biked off from there. It was exhilarating!

 DSC_0540small

It had been a dreary winter/spring but taking off to exercise, be in nature, do something for me, be a fun mom (park stops!) and trying something new boosted me up in a way that I hadn’t felt for a long time!

DSC_0598small

The girls were in heaven and loved every minute. I loved sitting at the parks, soaking up the sun and watching them play!

DSC_0574small

The ducks weren’t very social and didn’t care about the girls throwing them bread, but the fish loved it! They kept leaping out of the water to nibble at the bread!

DSC_0592 small  DSC_0552small

  • 2 girls in the bike trailer

  • 10 miles

  • 4 parks

  • 1 picnic

  • 3 hours

Ingredients for a truly glorious day!

One response »

  1. Wow! that says it all. You constantly amaze me—I love you crystal! m

    *******************************************Everything tastes good with chocolate except broccoli—Maria Lund

Leave a Reply

