Construction Zone: Kids At Work

Standard

When I interviewed Dylan and Jackson for the last family newsletter, I thought it was cute that they both wanted to be a builder when they grow up.  And then I thought about it and realized- this is how they play all of the time.

DSC_0244small

We have a great set of Magformers! We love them and make cool things – like the pet shop hotel shown above.  But…. when you have to share them when everybody’s playing you feel a bit like Alison. “What can I build with my 7 pieces?” After a Sunday fiasco I decided to order another set from Amazon. Now for my favorite part of ordering online- waiting for something to arrive in the mail!

DSC_0248small

The big Legos are a favorite Sunday activity. We have 14 years’ worth of sets in a bin downstairs and there are enough to make really big things!

DSC_0249small

I love watching the whole creative process!

DSC_0252small

I love that Ashlyn still plays with everyone!

DSC_0256small

Even Alison chimes in!

DSC_0259small

Teamwork, bartering, group play… and kids that are entertained!

DSC_0387small

Now that it’s warming up they can even build outside 🙂

DSC_0395small

Finally, the big set has arrived! Dylan and his friend Alex dove right in!

DSC_0397small

Dylan and his school of fish.

Of all the toys we own, I’m only holding onto 4 toys for grandkids (is that weird that I’ve already thought this out?) Legos, Magformers, Pet Shops and Little People. But… if I keep thinking about it, I’ll start adding on….

 

Leave a Reply

