Rainy Day Magic

Standard

As summer is winding down, rainy days have made an entrance. There is nothing quite like a late summer rain storm. All of your senses come alive at once!  The sound of the rain pouring down, shifting whenever a gust of wind races past. The smell of damp earth mixed with sky. Millions of tiny drops rippling across the quickly puddling roads and sidewalks.

DSC_0713small

We couldn’t stay away. Homework was forgotten and we all sat down on the porch to watch.

DSC_0715small

At some point, watching has to be replaced by running!

 DSC_0721small

For some reason, Ashlyn’s umbrella is the only umbrella left in the house. Where did they all go? Two-by-two they set off to explore.

DSC_0724small

Alison and Megan are quite content to leave the exploring to the older kids. 

DSC_0726small

I’m enjoying the changing of seasons. It won’t be long until the leaves start to change, the daylight hours shrink away faster and the hot cider evenings begin.

2 responses »

  1. Cute post.  what other mom would realize the adventure in the rain, and catch the activity on camera.  YOUR LUCKY KIDS to have you as a mom!!!!!!!!!!  crystal, I will make a casserole for your dinner tomorrow if that’s ok.  Love, M

    *******************************************Everything tastes good with chocolate except broccoli—Maria Lund

    • You know what? That would be wonderful! THANK YOU for thinking of me 🙂 I haven’t been sleeping that well- I have a lump on the side of my throat/neck and it’s freaking me out (more than hurting). At night is when I start to worry…. Calling the doctor tomorrow, but even after taking a Tylenol PM last night to try to sleep and not think about it- still left me awake but absolutely exhausted this morning. It’s been a good day today but after so many people I’ve know recently being diagnosed with cancer (that dreaded thing) it makes me anxious- I’m thinking it’s just a gland thing but it’s quite low (almost near my collar bone). Seeing the doctor and getting the “okay” will put my mind at ease. And I will truly be glad to not have to worry about dinner on top of that!

Leave a Reply

