The Big “36”

Standard

This year I turned 36- a year which means nothing to me because I always have to do math to remember how old I am.  Even for this blog post title I had to subtract 1977 from 2013.  Crazy! I remember going to the movies with Robb and Ginny right after Matt and I were married (it must have been my birthday- we got married a week before I turned….. let me do the math… 1998 minus 1977… right before I turned 21). The movie was about to start and they asked me how old I was and without thinking I promptly said 18. That didn’t seem right so I thought about it. Nope- I’m really 21. I don’t know what it is, but I am totally age-less.  Clearly age does not define me! It’s been a great 36 years and time is flying.

DSC_0123small

I knew what cake I wanted- my favorite- banana cake. I must have started early because Alison is still in jammies and is sporting bed head along with her sunglasses! She is always my baking buddy!

DSC_0124small

Megan joined the fun and looks glad to NOT be wearing jammies at all! 

DSC_0128small

Matt spoiled me with unusually cool canning supplies, a memory card for my purse camera (I was dying!) and a historical book with notes about each section of the Doctrine and Covenants.  This is going to be a good one!

DSC_0129small

Banana cake and blueberry pie ice cream – a perfect match! Look at this beautiful family! I feel so lucky!

DSC_0132small

Ashlyn and Megan

DSC_0136small

Cayden, Alison and Dylan

DSC_0137small

The goal quickly turned into seeing how many people could frown for the camera. They’re working it pretty good! It was a great birthday…. and don’t be surprised if I have to pause to do mental math if you ask me how old I am….

Leave a Reply

