Thoughts on Service

Standard

I have to start this post with a disclaimer: This is NOT a brag-a-thon.  I promise.  I just wanted to share something that has been on my mind a lot.  I really mean it- a lot.  It all started with Matt and I listening to a conference talk in bed.  Matt and I always read scriptures together before we go to bed, but when we get the conference edition of the Ensign we read a conference talk instead.  The past few nights, we decided to “listen” to the talk instead.  That evening I had been worrying about watching Kristin’s kids.  I was watching them for the whole school day while she went on a field trip with Isabelle.  I guess worring is the wrong word- I knew it would be okay- but I just knew that Cozi would cry the whole day and that I wouldn’t be able to keep her happy at all.  Seriously!  She loves Kristin and likes me from a distance 🙂 I had prepped a crock pot dinner so that I wouldn’t even have to think about dinner and was set to have 3 extra kids under 5 for 8 hours!  So that night as we were listening to “Come Unto Me” by President Eyring and I was trying to keep my eyes (and my brain) open I realized that this talk was about service.  I knew this was for me.  I had this distinct impression that as we serve others, our capacity to serve is increased and our abilities are magnified.  I know that this is true.  The more that I serve the easier it is to serve.  And so as I woke up the next morning and welcomed these three cute cousins into my home, I felt such joy at the opportunity I had to serve.

DSC_0805small

Everyone played so well together

DSC_0813small

Cozi and Megan became inseparable and Cozi loved me! We sat together on the trampoline for a half hour at the end while the other kids jumped and she was just so happy to snuggle with me!

DSC_0814small

Dominic building a car track.

DSC_0817small

My neighbor’s little girls came by while their mom was weeding and so for a time we had 8 kids 5 and under, and things went so smoothly.  I realized that over the years the things that used to require more effort- bringing meals, watching kids, dropping treats by- became things that are easy and I know that it is because my capacity to do them has been enlarged.  I am grateful for that because it encourages me to keep finding ways to help those around me and to look for more opportunities.

“My promise to you who pray and serve the Lord cannot be that you will have every blessing you may wish for yourself and your family. But I can promise you that the Savior will draw close to you and bless you and your family with what is best. You will have the comfort of His love and feel the answer of His drawing closer as you reach out your arms in giving service to others. As you bind up the wounds of those in need… the Lord’s power will sustain you. His arms are outstretched with yours to succor and bless the children of our Heavenly Father, including those in your family.” ~President Eyring

I hope that I can remember those words and live up to them.

And now I’m off…. to paint trim and a ceiling.  Wish me luck!

One response »

  1. Thank you so much for this post! It was exactly what I needed to read this week. I was having my own struggle with feeling like my capacity to give had reached it’s limit and then I read your post and it gave me the insight to keep going! You are great! Thank you a million times over for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

