Weeding Wednesdays

Standard

We actually followed through! I always mean to do this but I never do (1 week off turns into 3 which turns into 5). This is the first year it’s actually worked and I think it’s because there was a specific plan involved.

Wednesday. Morning.

We were outside weeding our flower beds/garden every Wednesday morning this summer except for weeks when we weren’t home. I think the biggest thing that motivated me to get everyone going was that Cayden mowed the lawn each week and I LOVE the way our yard looks when it’s freshly mowed. That can be our little secret. I think Cayden thought the driving force behind this day was the weeding- and that’s definitely a part of it. Matt mowed the first week we got the equipment out in the spring…. and that’s it. Cayden’s done the rest. He is so good at it now! I remember last year he could barely get that mower started, and this year it’s not a big deal at all. The kids and I weed while Cayden mows and we all finish at about the same time. It’s not always perfectly weeded. That’s okay. But it’s so much better than waiting a month until it gets really scary and then having to spend a whole day out in the heat. I know this first hand. That’s been me the last 14 years. This method has revolutionized my weeding mentality.

Just like Maniac Monday, there is some fun involved. We also go swimming!

This has been HUGE! I was so nervous that I’d need a babysitter to either come to the pool with me or that I’d need to leave Megan and/or Alison at home with one. I decided to brave it the first week by myself and then I’d know for sure what I needed to do. It was smooth sailing! I was so surprised! Of course Cayden and Ashlyn don’t need me. Dylan had turned into a swimmer by the end of the summer last year and remembered it all. He spent the whole summer going down the big slide and hanging out in the lazy river. He checked in with me every 10 minutes or so, but no worries there. That left me with Jackson (who will not even get his face wet), Alison and Megan (who I just hold).

I found my new goal: Get Jackson comfortable enough in water that he can go underwater and really just play.

It worked! After a whole summer of low-pressure days at the pool, last Wednesday he said “Watch this mom!” and he carefully tipped his head forward and the front of his face got wet. This is ground-breaking! That was the tip of the iceberg. Within 5 minutes he was swimming underwater and diving for torpedoes. A few days later we went with cousins to Matt’s parents’ pool- he’s an underwater guy now! All we have to do now is get him swimming so that he can manage in deeper water, but he’s already gotten over the biggest hurdle! (This picture below taken of him before his underwater days.)

Alison has much less fear of the water. She stays in the shallow water (since that’s just where we hang out!) but she doesn’t mind slipping underwater and standing right back up. She floats around on her surfboard and likes to kick around the pool. What a difference it makes to spend time in water!

There’s nothing like the smell of chlorine. Love it!

One response »

  1. Megan: [with a small wave of her hand] You don’t need to see his identification.
    Stormtrooper: We don’t need to see his identification.
    Megan: These aren’t the droids you’re looking for.
    Stormtrooper: These aren’t the droids we’re looking for.
    Megan: He can go about his business.
    Stormtrooper: You can go about your business.
    Megan: Move along.
    Stormtrooper: Move along… move along.

Leave a Reply

